Baby Penguins And My Wifes Voice

No… my wife’s voice doesn’t sound like a baby penguin (not that I would really know). Then why would I choose a title like this? You’ll understand if you read a bit further. I recently bought a used DVD at a rummage sale. A quote at the end of the movie reminded me of what I often struggle with…distinguishing and hearing the truth through all the noise and distractions of the world.

“The gunfire around us makes it hard to hear. But the human voice is different from other sounds. It can be heard over noises that bury everything else. Even when it’s not shouting. Even if it’s just a whisper. Even the lowest whisper can be heard over armies when it’s telling the truth.” [From the 2005 film, ‘The Interpreter’]

 

all ears

What ya say? What?

Jesus said some profound things about the truth, about listening, hearing and receiving.

“And He said to them, He that hath ears to hear, let him hear”. – Mark 4:9

“I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me”. John 14:6

For I did not speak on my own initiative, but the Father Himself who sent me has given me a commandment as to what to say  and what to speak”. John 12:49

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me”. John 10:27

 

                                                           HE STILL SPEAKS

Jesus is still speaking to us, to His bride. He still says what the Father is saying. When we hear His voice, we hear the Father. We can hear it if we listen. We have to have ears for it. Hearing the truth, hearing the Lord’s voice……ahhh, it sounds easy, (I hope it is for you) but if you are anything like me you struggle with it. I have to push away or muffle the sounds of the world tugging at me, demanding my attention. I have to choose to put the TV remote down, and place myself into His rest (which is available to all of us) and wait in the quite moments set aside just for Him to hear Him gently speak to me, and He will. Does the TV, video games, smart phones, today’s social media, or anything this world offers us really have any eternal value? All that is just fluff. I can say when I do hear His voice it is well worth the waiting. Nothing touches you deeper that an encounter with the Lord.

                                             MY WIFE’S VOICE AND BABY PENGUINS

penguin2

I’m hungry…are you my Mom?

Emperor penguins will leave their chicks alone in a rookery for days and go out to sea to bring back food. When they return they must first find their own chicks in the thousands of other chicks waiting for their own mother. How do they find their baby chick in all that barking and squealing clamor? They’ve developed an intimate relationship with each other and have become accustomed to each others voice and can recognize it over the all noise. Because of the intimacy that share with my wife – I can distinctly pick out her voice and recognize her laugh in a crowd of other people. I know it well. Likewise, in our relationship we develop with the Lord we can have that same intimacy that will allow us to hear His voice, even in and through the noise. It is developed in and comes out of intimacy.

“And it shall come to pass, that before they call, I will answer; and while they are yet speaking, I will hear”. Isaiah 65:24

                                              “HE THAT HAS EARS, LET HIM HEAR”

His word says that He will always be available to you, waiting for you to set some time aside and talk with Him. As you begin to do that open your heart and just listen, talking-with-jesus-pms-j8knowing that you now have an audience with the King of Kings. The Lord will speak to you and into your life. You’ll grow and learn more about Faith and Intimacy, Obedience, Blessing, Grace and Favor.

All this and more, so much more–from learning to hear and responding to His voice. He is waiting.  Do you have the ears to hear?

And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you if you heed the voice of the Lord your God. Deut. 28:2

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Baby Penguins And My Wifes Voice

Leave a Reply or Comment

